July 28, 2021, 4:14 PM

LEC Superweek: What’s at stake for each team

Which teams are most likely to advance to the playoffs?
 LEC Superweek: What’s at stake for each team
By Jorge Pedraz
Filed Under
With only three games left for every team in the LEC Summer Regular Season, 5 teams have already clinched their Playoff spot: Rogue, Fnatic, MAD Lions, Misfits, and G2.
However, there are many points of interest for the last games: four teams will fight for the last Playoff spot, and the Summer Season seeding will be key for the five qualified teams since the Championship Points will determine the Summer Playoff positions.
Being at the top 4 of the Championship Points standings means that just winning the first best-of-5 series will seal a ticket to Worlds. The strength of schedule plays a major role, and we will use it along with the Summer head-to-head records and other team stats to analyze what’s upcoming for every LEC team.
Let’s take a look at the current standings with the top 5 teams already qualified and Schalke as the only team eliminated:
And now let’s cut to the chase:

Eliminated team

Schalke 04 (Record: 3-12)

We’ll start with the German team in its last Split, for now, in the LEC. Their LEC slot was sold to Team BDS due to financial issues after the Covid-19 pandemic and Schalke football team relegation to 2.Bundesliga.
Joining the League in 2016 Summer, their best result came in the 2018 Summer Playoffs where they reached the Finals losing 1-3 to Fnatic. Last Summer, they made a ‘Miracle Run’ going from a 1-10 record to an 8-10 in the Summer Regular Season clinching the last Playoff spot in the last game.
Farewell, Schalke null fear.

Playoff Race

Four teams will fight for sixth place. Will Excel make Playoffs for the first time? Will SK Gaming secure Playoffs like they did in Spring? Will Vitality capitalize on Selfmade and Lider signings? Or will Astralis keep on their steady improvement through the Knock-Out Stage? Let’s find out:

Astralis (Record 6-9)

After Origen rebranded and lost some of their best players in Alphari and Upset, not many people gave Astralis a chance to make it into Playoffs.
They didn’t have many options during the Spring, with a brand new roster that needed some time to adapt.
Now, in the Summer they have a real chance of making it to the Playoffs. During the season they’ve been constantly around that 6th place and they hold a perfect 5-0 record against the teams at the bottom of the table (Schalke, Excel, SK and Vitality).
This weekend, they will face three of them:

Excel (Record 6-9)

They just fell short of the Playoff Race in the 2020 Summer Split losing the last spot to Schalke due to the tiebreaker rule of having more wins in the second half of the Split.
Ever since Markoon and Advienne joined Excel, the team has turned upside down. They beat G2 and Vitality and went toe-to-toe against Fnatic and MAD Lions.
The loss against SK Gaming was definitely a bump on the road, but after the last 2-0 week, they are back on track. They don’t exactly have the easiest games ahead, though, having to face Rogue and G2:

SK Gaming (Record 5-10)

After all the roster changes late in the offseason when Tynx left the jungle and Treatz, one of the best supports of the Spring Split, took his place, a move that made Jesiz, SK’s Head Coach move to support, things have not looked good for SK.
If we add a 2-9 start on top of that, it would look like all the hopes are gone.
However, after upsetting MAD Lions and Fnatic and a key win against Excel, SK can still fight for the last Playoff place. They will start the Superweek with a must-win game against Astralis before facing Misfits and Rogue:

Vitality (Record 5-10)

Taking a quick look at a roster with Szygenda, Selfmade, Lider, Crownshot and Labrov, the combination of experience and mechanical prowess would make anyone think that they should be one step ahead of their direct rivals for Playoffs.
On the contrary, Vitality holds, excluding Schalke, the worst losing streak in the league with 4 games lost including one against Excel. They will start the weekend against the already eliminated Schalke, and if they manage to upset Rogue, they could be facing a decisive game against Astralis on Sunday:

Top 5 teams and Summer Playoff seeding

As we mentioned in the beginning, the Playoff seeding will be determined by Championship Points, that as the Official LEC Rulebook states are awarded in the following way:
The top 4 teams will move up to the Winners’ Bracket. The two winners of Round 1 of the Winners’ Bracket, will make it to the Semifinals, instantly securing a spot at Worlds.
The other European representative will come via Losers’ Bracket making it all the way to that Bracket’ Semifinals. Out of the 10 teams in the LEC, only 5 are currently contenders for the top 4 seeds:

Rogue (Record 11-4)

One of the most solid teams in the Regular Season. Their playstyle, based on creating early gold leads via drafting winning lanes and snowballing the game, might seem predictable, but it’s definitely hard to counter.
Winning the LEC for the first time is their main goal after being so close in Spring. The top 4 is almost secured for the team who clearly leads the league in Gold difference at minute 15:

Fnatic (Record 10-5)

They look like one of the strongest squads in the LEC relying especially on their bot lane, but a 0-2 weekend losing to Rogue thanks to Inspired's perfect early game and then throwing a 6000 gold lead against SK brought some doubts.
Fnatic will open their Superweek with a game against Misfits, both teams with the fewest Championship Points from the top 5 teams with 20 and 0, respectively:

MAD Lions (Record 10-5)

After a busy schedule due to their MSI appearance where they got to the Semifinals, the Spring Champions took the first part of the Summer Split with ease.
They are now starting to get back in shape for the last part of the season and they hold the best winning streak in the LEC with 3 consecutive victories, including the last one against Rogue.
MAD Lions still don’t look as dominant as they were in Spring, and their wins are not yet as clean as they used to be. Their remaining schedule is challenging, with games against G2, Fnatic, and Misfits, but they start with 90 Championship Points from the Spring Split:

Misfits (Record 10-5)

Traditionally, Misfits is a team that often starts strong and falls off in the last part of the Splits. This Summer was not the case.
They are 8-1 against the bottom 5 teams, only dropping one map to Astralis and although they are the underdogs of the top 5 teams, their playstyle has developed a lot from the Spring with Razork being the early game enabler for HiRit and Vetheo.
On Friday, they will face Fnatic in a game that will be crucial if they want to sneak in the Winners’ Bracket:

G2 (Record 9-6)

The favorites on paper. After losing two best-of-5 series against MAD Lions and Rogue in Spring, a 4-game losing streak in this Summer Split activated the alarms.
However, G2 bounced back with a 5-1 record to break the losing streak, including a stomp against Rogue.
With 50 Championship Points already in their bag, they should not have many problems clinching a top-4 spot. Let’s check their remaining schedule:

Recap

With 5 out of the 6 teams already qualified for Playoffs, the last LEC Regular Season weekend will feature a 4-team fight for the last Playoff spot along with the 5-team contest for the advantageous placements in the Winners’ Bracket where MAD Lions, Rogue, and G2 are favorites due to the Championship Points that they obtained in Spring.
Here are the must-watch games that you can follow with us:
Friday SK Gaming vs. Astralis Playoff Race. 7 p.m. CEST, 1 p.m. EST, 10 a.m. PST. MAD Lions vs. G2 Top 5. 9 p.m. CEST, 3 p.m. EST, 12 p.m. PST. Misfits vs. Fnatic Top 5. 10 p.m. CEST, 4 p.m. EST, 1 p.m. PST. Saturday Astralis vs. Excel Playoff Race. 6 p.m. CEST, 12 p.m. EST, 9 a.m. PST. Fnatic vs. MAD Lions Top 5. 9 p.m. CEST, 3 p.m. EST, 12 p.m. PST. Sunday Vitality vs. Astralis Playoff Race. 6 p.m. CEST, 12 p.m. EST, 9 a.m. PST. MAD Lions vs. Misfits Top 5. 8 p.m. CEST, 2 p.m. EST, 11 p.m. PST.

Live / Upcoming Matches

LeagueTimeTeams
TTR
CommunityTrackLoL
Friday, October 22, 2021, 12:00 PM
12:00 PM
T1
HLE

2275

1986

100%
0%
54%
46%
Saturday, October 23, 2021, 12:00 PM
12:00 PM
RNG
EDG

2526

2459

20%
80%
51%
49%
Sunday, October 24, 2021, 12:00 PM
12:00 PM
DK
MAD

2793

2157

100%
0%
56%
44%
Monday, October 25, 2021, 12:00 PM
12:00 PM
GEN
C9

1777

1968

100%
0%
47%
53%
Saturday, October 30, 2021, 12:00 PM
12:00 PM

-

-

50%
50%
50%
50%
Sunday, October 31, 2021, 12:00 PM
12:00 PM

-

-

50%
50%
50%
50%

Live / Upcoming Matches

LeagueTimeTeams
TTR
Friday, October 22, 2021, 12:00 PM
12:00 PM
T1
HLE

2275

1986

Saturday, October 23, 2021, 12:00 PM
12:00 PM
RNG
EDG

2526

2459

Sunday, October 24, 2021, 12:00 PM
12:00 PM
DK
MAD

2793

2157

Monday, October 25, 2021, 12:00 PM
12:00 PM
GEN
C9

1777

1968

Saturday, October 30, 2021, 12:00 PM
12:00 PM

-

-

Sunday, October 31, 2021, 12:00 PM
12:00 PM

-

-

Copyright 2021 Elo Entertainment Inc. We're Hiring! League of Legends is a registered trademark of Riot Games.